My first published poem

I recently decided to enter my writing in a number of contests.  It was a way of branching out and trying different genres, while having some fun.  The first contest I entered is Open to Interpretation:Fading Light, a juried competition of photography, poetry, and prose.  The selected works are compiled in a beautiful art book, which can be purchased online.

Once the theme is announced, photographers submit their work interpreting the theme.  The photographs selected for publication are posted online, then writers submit their work as inspired by the photographs.  In the book, there are two written pieces to accompany each image.

When I saw Bedscapes No. 9 by Lisa Blair, I wrote Sanctuary in response.  I was thrilled when I received word of it being chosen because, not only had it been my first poem since high school, but it was also the first writing contest I’ve ever entered!  It was a great confidence booster while venturing for the first time into genres unfamiliar.

The book is gorgeous and after reading it and looking at the photographs, I must say, I’m awfully proud to be included.  Photographers and writers from around the globe are represented on its pages, and the works selected are evocative and stirring.  When looking at the book for the first time, I noticed that one of the photographers lives in my town!  I reached out to photographer Michael Bach to congratulate him and say isn’t it neat, and we met over coffee.  Soon we discovered that we are both fine art models, and we’ve worked with some of the same artists!  I love it when stuff like that happens, don’t you?

The local newspaper printed a nice piece about it, in which you get to see Michael Bach’sselected work.

CLICK HERE TO READ THE ARTICLE

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mosher jean ann
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 10:49:29

    I just had a wonderful hour after receiving an email from you telling about your recent success with your poem and also Michael Bach for his photograph. What an exciting time for you both. I followed links and got to Lisa Blair’s site and enjoyed her many talents as well. The power of the internet. Keep on doing what you are doing as long as it is fulfilling for you. Continued successes

    Reply

  2. Areyourtwentiesajoke
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 10:16:54

    Congratulations!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wellness with Gina Marie

A guide to practical wisdom and self care

Are your twenties a joke...?

Cause sometimes it kinda seems like they are.

All In Context's Blog

Where my verbal inspirations flow

moderatepursuits

Just another WordPress.com site

Sensory Notions

The art of relentless tweaking.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

